top of page

AVPA Contest

Chocolates Processed at Origin
choco.png

The 4rd Edition of "Chocolates processed at origin" Contest is organized by the AVPA in order to continue to recognize that cocoa-producing countries know how to develop chocolates of quality, equal and sometimes better than those made by major brands in consumer countries.

This international contest reserved for chocolatiers or their groups (cooperatives, Denominations of Origin) for which AVPA proposes a classification that allows the expression of all the traditional tastes encountered among chocolatiers in cocoa-producing countries.

Two main categories are defined:

Dark chocolate "bean to bar” and “tree to bar .  This category  of chocolate is the subject of a special session with its own jury . Chloé Doutre-Roussel collaborates with AVPA for the 4th International Chocolate processed at Origin Contest. Her presidency will be for the bean-to-bar (and tree-to bar) category* of the contest.  

 

 

Second category: Chocolates with adjuvants and other additives -other chocolates (dark chocolates with additives: vanilla, milk chocolate, chocolate with various ingredients and chocolate candies) with jury chaired by Pascale Adeline for technical jury and Emmanuelle de Beauregard for gastronomic jury.

* Dark chocolate "bean to bar” and “tree to bar.    

The “dark chocolate bean to bar “ category refers to dark chocolates  produced  with 2 or 3 ingredients maximum (cacao, sugar and  (for those who use) cocoa butter). The  “ dark chocolate tree to bar” category refers to chocolates made from cacaos that come from trees beans that belong to the chocolate maker  (his/her own plantation /farm). Sugar must be cane sugar and  be neutral  in taste ( example:panela or brown sugar  have their own aromas and can not enter this category). The product  must have a percentage  of cacao greater than or equal to 65%  ( sum of  the weights of the cacao  and cocoa butter divided by the total weight  of the product, multiplied by 100). The cacao needs to have total traceability ( know the farms/ region it comes from, where it was fermented and dried,  and what path it followed from the  fermentation/dryin facility to the chocolate   maker). 

web_S9A0377_1_edited.jpg

DATES TO REMEMBER

   

  Registration and samples to be sent before March 28th, 2024

Results announcement  April 2024  on-line

Awards ceremony at the Salon Du Chocolat 2024 Paris

Scan the QR code to register

20085326569_4ThChocolatesProcessedatOrigin.png
Chocolate Contest
awards

 

Results

Picture11.png

Elsie Jahjah
Founder and Chocolate Maker 
Alouss Chocolates

Australia

9-5.png

Nine Fine Mynahs Cacao Farm

Hawaii

natkow.png

NatKaw Natuvaromas


Ecuador

Picture7.jpg

Daniella Barberis 


Barberis Chocolate
Peru

bottom of page

top of page

Concours AVPA

Chocolats élaborés à l'origine
choco.png

Le 4ème Concours International des « Chocolats élaborés à l’origine » est organisé dès février 2024 par l’AVPA afin de continuer à faire reconnaitre que les pays producteurs de cacao savent élaborer des chocolats de qualité, égaux et parfois meilleurs que ceux fabriqués par les grandes marques dans les pays consommateurs.

Ce concours international est réservé aux chocolatiers ou à leurs groupements (coopératives, Dénominations d’origine) pour lesquels AVPA propose une classification qui permet l’expression de tous les goûts traditionnels rencontrés chez les chocolatiers des pays producteurs de cacao.

 

Deux grandes catégories sont définies : bean-to-bar (et tree-to bar) - chocolat noir (chocolat noir sans aucun adjuvant comme vanille et émulsifiants)*. Chloé Doutre-Roussel collabore avec AVPA pour le 4ème Concours International des chocolats élaborés à l’origine. Sa Présidence se fera pour cette catégorie bean-to-bar (et tree-to bar) du concours. 

Deuxième categorie: « Chocolats avec adjuvants et autres additifs » - autres chocolats (chocolat noir avec adjuvant, chocolat au lait, chocolats avec ingrédients divers et bonbons au chocolat) avec un jury technique présidé par Pascale Adeline et un jury gastronomique présidé par Emmanuelle de Beauregard.

 

* Chocolat noir « bean to bar » et « tree to bar ». Cette catégorie de chocolat fait l'objet d'une séance particulière avec son propre jury. La catégorie « chocolat noir Bean  to Bar» désigne les chocolats noirs produits avec 2 ou 3 ingrédients maximum (cacao, sucre et (pour ceux qui utilisent) beurre de cacao). La catégorie « chocolat noir  Tree to Bar » fait référence aux chocolats fabriqués à partir de cacaos provenant d'arbres appartenant au chocolatier (sa propre plantation). Le sucre doit être de canne  et doit avoir un goût neutre sinon il est considéré comme un arôme ajouté (exemple : la panela ou la cassonade ne peuvent pas entrer dans cette catégorie). Le produit doit avoir un pourcentage de cacao supérieur ou égal à 65% (somme des poids du cacao et du beurre de cacao divisée par le poids total du produit, multiplié par 100). Le cacao doit avoir une traçabilité totale (connaître les fermes/régions d'où il vient, où il a été fermenté et séché, et quel chemin il a suivi depuis l'installation de fermentation/séchage jusqu'au chocolatier).

web_S9A0377_1_edited.jpg

DATES A RETENIR

                                                   

 Inscription et échantillons avant le 28 Mars 2024 

Annonce des résultats mai 2024

Cérémonie de remise des prix

30 octobre 14 heures Salon du Chocolat, Paris 

Scannez le code QR pour vous inscrire

fr.png
Chocolate Contest
awards

 

Résultats

Picture11.png

Elsie Jahjah
Founder and Chocolate Maker 

Alouss Chocolates
Australia

Picture12_edited.jpg

Julie Nyangui 

Les Chocolats Gabonais De Julie
Gabon

Picture13.png

Vincent Moürou
Co-Founder

Marou Chocolate
Vietnam

Picture7.jpg

Daniella Barberis 


Barberis Chocolate
Peru

bottom of page